New Leadership and Organizational Structure in Academic Affairs Division

Published: June 14, 2013

College of Western Idaho (CWI) is pleased to announce new position appointments and reorganization of the College’s instructional division that will support growth while continuing to provide exceptional teaching and learning experiences for students. 

The transformation started with the CWI Board of Trustees approving additional full-time faculty and department chair positions last February. This next phase establishes a new organizational structure that includes rebranding the existing Lower Division Transfer/General Education area to reflect a more comprehensive designation of Academic Affairs. As the largest and fastest growing division of the College –serving 10,000 students a year – Academic Affairs is expanding to provide adequate leadership to ensure quality of instruction at CWI. Starting from the top, CWI President Bert Glandon has appointed David Shellberg Executive Vice President for Instruction and Student Services, and named Brenda Pettinger Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs.

“Nowhere does change ring louder and truer than at a community college,” said Glandon. “We are champions in preparing students for tomorrow’s careers and the College must continue to adapt in order to stay viable in helping shape our communities’ future leaders. The new appointments and organizational structure will ensure that we have strongly executed plans led by capable educational leaders.”

As Executive Vice President for Instruction and Student Services, Shellberg will provide college-wide leadership in the development and implementation of the academic strategic plan. In addition, he will continue to oversee the College’s student affairs.

The Division of Academic Affairs, led by Pettinger, will include oversight of academic programs; including Online Learning and Dual Credit, as well as the Center for Teaching and Learning. The new academic structure also includes additional instructional management and faculty resources specific to each discipline:

Division of Academic Affairs

·      School of Social Sciences and Public Affairs: Mary Rohlfing, Assistant Dean

o  Department of Culture, History, and Politics: Jeff Reed, Department Chair

o  Department of Social and Human Relations: Martha Timberlake, Department Chair

o  Department of Philosophy and Communication: Michelle Bennett, Department Chair

·      School of Business, Education, and Exercise and Health Sciences: To be hired, Assistant Dean

o  Department of Business: John Nordstrom, Department Chair

o  Department of Education: Kae Jensen, Interim Department Chair

o  Department of Exercise and Health Sciences: Rhonna Krouse, Department Chair

·      School of Language and Arts: Laura Stavoe, Assistant Dean

o  Department of English: Joy Palmer, Department Chair

o  Department of Visual and Performing Arts: Brenda Fisher, Department Chair

o  Department of Modern Languages: Brent Hart, Department Chair

·      School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math: Susan Knights, Assistant Dean

o  Department of Physical Sciences: Willard Pack, Department Chair

o  Department of Life Science: Mir Saleem, Department Chair

o  Department of Mathematics: Maia Kelley, Department Chair

Each assistant dean will provide supervision of their division and act as campus administrators for each of CWI’s primary campus locations where academic courses are offered, which include Nampa Campus Academic Building, Nampa Campus Aspen Creek, Ada County Center, and Canyon County Center.

All changes are effective immediately in preparation for the upcoming academic year starting Aug. 26, 2013.

Stay Up To Date

Learn about news and events by subscribing to CWI’s eNewsletter.

View Newsletter Archive