English Department Welcomes Mary Pauline Lowry (POSTPONED)

Mary Pauline Lowry
February 20, 2020

UPDATE: This event has been postponed until September. Please visit the Treefort Music Fest website to learn more.

College of Western Idaho’s English department's Writers and Words Series is bringing Storyfort to you as they welcome author, Mary Pauline Lowry, to campus Thursday, March 19.

Lowry is the author of The Roxy Letters which will be published this coming April. She has a Master of Fine Arts from Boise State University and is a regular contributor to O Magazine. Her work has also appeared in The New York TimesThe New York Times MagazineThe Millions, and other publications.

Lowry’s upcoming novel, The Roxy Letters, was named by Good Morning America’s book club as one of the most anticipated books of 2020. They write, “Fans of "Bridget Jones’ Diary" or "Where’d You Go Bernadette" will love this laugh-out-loud novel. Roxy is a sometimes vegan, always broke artist with an ex living in her spare bedroom. She works at the deli counter of the original Whole Foods in Austin, Texas, and is outraged at the big-business changes taking place in her beloved hometown including activewear giant, Lululemon. Her fight against corporate activewear takeover turns into an adventure of heartwarming self-discovery.”

Lowry will be hosting a craft talk for Creative Writing students and faculty at 4:30 p.m. At 6 p.m., all are invited to join Lowry for a reading and Q&A session at the Nampa Campus Academic Building in the second-floor atrium. A reception will be held prior to the reading beginning at 5:30 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

Please contact Malia Collins at maliacollins@cwi.edu with questions or to learn more.